How to Read Hannah Swensen’s Books in Order: 2 Methods | Complete Guide

Avatar photo
murder she baked movies in order

Fans like Joanne Fluke’s Hannah Swensen series for both the cute, homey murder mysteries and the recipes she includes. It can be difficult to decide where to start because the series spans more than 30 books and three decades. Learn the best method for reading the novels by Hannah Swensen in order by continuing to read.

About the Author

The author of the well-liked Hannah Swensen series is Joanne Fischmann; her pen name is Joanne Fluke. Fischmann has written under a number of pen names, but Joanne Fluke is her most well-known and, for the purpose of simplicity, what we shall use for the rest of this essay.

Fluke is the author of several additional books in addition to the Swensen series. You can read our page on the complete list of Joanne Fluke’s books if you’re interested in learning more about her full body of work.

Similar to our primary character Hannah Swensen, Joanne Fluke was raised in a tiny rural Minnesota community. She has claimed that the Swensen series’ location makes her think of her own background and community. Despite the fact that Lake Eden is a made-up place, Fluke’s writing has a familiarity and authenticity that makes it seem real.

Fluke worked a variety of occupations before she became a published author, including short order cook, teacher, psychologist, and many others.

Fluke comes from a family of bakers as well, as is evident from the names of her Hannah Swensen series. Each title features a mouthwatering dessert that is related to the book’s mysterious crime. And to make things even more delectable, Fluke adds recipes in her books so you may make your own sweet delight.

Do the Hannah Swensen Books Have to Be Read in Order?

As was already mentioned, the fictional Minnesotan village of Lake Eden serves as the setting for the Hannah Swensen series. The story centres on Hannah Swensen, the owner of The Cookie Jar, the town’s bakery. A murder rocks the small community with each new episode, and Hannah must find the killer before it’s too late.

You can read the Hannah Swensen volumes in any sequence, just like many other mysteries. The suggested reading order is to go in the order of publication, albeit, if you have the time and the chance.

You can only really appreciate the Hannah Swensen books if you read them in the sequence that they were published. The order of publication will also help you completely understand the individuals and their histories. Last but not least, it will prevent you from any potential spoilers from earlier episodes, such as romantic relationships or perhaps even the outcome of a previous murder.

Having said all of that, we have two reading orders in this comprehensive guide, and we’ll examine each one today.

Related: The 10 Best Jennifer Lopez Movies, from ‘Anaconda’ to ‘Marry Me

#1 Hannah Swensen Books in Order of Publication

First, follow the suggested reading order for the Hannah Swensen volumes, which is obviously the order of publication.

If you’re just starting the series, this is the ideal way to read the novels. By doing this, you’ll be able to learn more about Hannah Swensen’s life and background in the sequence that Joanne Fluke intended. By reading them out of order, you can also make sure that you won’t come across any potential spoilers from earlier volumes.

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (2000)
  2. Strawberry Shortcake Murder (2001)
  3. Blueberry Muffin Murder (2001)
  4. Lemon Meringue Pie Murder (2001)
  5. Fudge Cupcake Murder (2004)
  6. Sugar Cookie Murder (2004)
  7. Peach Cobbler Murder (2005)
  8. Cherry Cheesecake Murder (2006)
  9. Key Lime Pie Murder (2007)
  10. Candy Cane Murder (2007) (Short Story/Anthology)
  11. Carrot Cake Murder (2008)
  12. Cream Puff Murder (2009)
  13. Plum Pudding Murder (2009)
  14. Apple Turnover Murder (2010)
  15. Gingerbread Cookie Murder (2010) (Short Story/Anthology)
  16. Devil’s Food Cake Murder (2011)
  17. Cinnamon Roll Murder (2012)
  18. Red Velvet Cupcake Murder (2013)
  19. Blackberry Pie Murder (2014)
  20. Double Fudge Brownie Murder (2015)
  21. Wedding Cake Murder (2016)
  22. Christmas Caramel Murder (2016)
  23. Banana Cream Pie Murder (2017)
  24. Raspberry Danish Murder (2018)
  25. Christmas Cake Murder (2018)
  26. Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (2019)
  27. Christmas Sweets (2019) (Short Story/Anthology)
  28. Coconut Layer Cake Murder (2020)
  29. Christmas Cupcake Murder (2020)
  30. Triple Chocolate Cheesecake Murder (2021)
  31. Caramel Pecan Roll Murder (2022)
  32. Pink Lemonade Cake Murder (Expected: July 25, 2023)

Related: Ranking the 10 Best Harrison Ford Movies of All Time

#2 Hannah Swensen Books: Chronological Order

murder she baked movies in order

The Hannah Swensen books can also be read chronologically, which is a good alternative and is comparable to our prior list. In actuality, the only distinction in this list is the book with which the series is introduced. Given that Christmas Cake Murder is a prelude to The Cookie Jar, it comes first in this reading order.

If you are just starting your reading trip with Hannah Swensen, this is yet another extremely minor alteration and is also not the recommended reading order.

This is due to the fact that Christmas Cake Murder was written about 20 years after the initial Hannah Swensen book was released. Although chronologically it occurs before the events in Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, it is advisable to wait until you are already familiar with the cast of characters before reading this prequel in order to get the most out of it.

  1. Christmas Cake Murder
  2. Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder
  3. Strawberry Shortcake Murder
  4. Blueberry Muffin Murder
  5. Lemon Meringue Pie Murder
  6. Fudge Cupcake Murder
  7. Sugar Cookie Murder
  8. Peach Cobbler Murder
  9. Cherry Cheesecake Murder
  10. Key Lime Pie Murder
  11. Candy Cane Murder (Short Story/Anthology)
  12. Carrot Cake Murder
  13. Cream Puff Murder
  14. Plum Pudding Murder
  15. Apple Turnover Murder
  16. Gingerbread Cookie Murder (Short Story/Anthology)
  17. Devil’s Food Cake Murder
  18. Cinnamon Roll Murder
  19. Red Velvet Cupcake Murder
  20. Blackberry Pie Murder
  21. Double Fudge Brownie Murder
  22. Wedding Cake Murder
  23. Christmas Caramel Murder
  24. Banana Cream Pie Murder
  25. Raspberry Danish Murder
  26. Chocolate Cream Pie Murder
  27. Christmas Sweets (Short Story/Anthology)
  28. Coconut Layer Cake Murder
  29. Christmas Cupcake Murder
  30. Triple Chocolate Cheesecake Murder
  31. Caramel Pecan Roll Murder
  32. Pink Lemonade Cake Murder
Previous Article
harrison ford movies in order

Ranking the 10 Best Harrison Ford Movies of All Time

Next Article
ocean movies in order

The Complete Heist Guide: The Order of the Ocean's Films

Related Posts