The Best Order to Watch the Star Wars Movies!

Avatar photo
star wars movies in order

Here is a list of every Star Wars film along with the year of release. You’ll observe that it might be simple to get the plot confused if you viewed them in the sequence they were released.

Over 40 years ago, the original Star Wars movie was released. It’s possible that George Lucas and Lucas Films LTD were unaware of the Star Wars universe’s potential to become a global phenomenon. Join us as we review every Star Wars film released from the franchise beginning in 1977 in chronological order so you may watch them all in the proper order.

Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)

Release date: May 25, 2018

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 15m

Alden Ehrenreich, Joonas Suotamo, Woody Harrelson, Emilia Clarke, and Donald Glover are the stars of the film.

Summary: When a teenage Han Solo unintentionally participates in a theft, he finds himself drawn into the criminal underground. He meets Lando Calrissian, Chewbacca, and his future millennium falcon co-pilot there.

Related: How to Watch “Mission: Impossible” Films in Sequence (Chronologically and by Release Date)

Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)

Release date: May 19, 1999

Rating: PG

Runtime: 2h 16m

Featuring Jake Lloyd, Natalie Portman, Ewan McGregor, and Liam Neeson

Summary: Episode I takes place 32 years before the start of the first trilogy. The plot centers on the cooperation of Obi-Wan Kenobi and Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn in defending Queen Padme Amidala. The team looks into the Sith’s strange resurgence after being believed to have long since gone dormant.

Star Wars: Episode Ii – Attack of The Clones (2002)

Release date: May 16, 2002

Rating: PG

Runtime: 2h 22m

Starring: Christopher Lee, Natalie Portman, Ewan McGregor, and Hayden Christensen

Synopsis: Padme Amidala and Anakin Skywalker engage in love liaison ten years after the events of Episode I. Obi-Wan Kenobi is investigating the attempted murder of Padme in the meantime.

Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008)

Release date: August 15, 2008

Rating: PG

Runtime: 1h 38m

Matt Lanter, Dee Bradley Baker, Tom Kane, and Ashley Eckstein are the stars.

This animated feature picture, which centers on the conflict between the Galactic Republic and the Confederacy of Independent Systems, continues the Clone Wars. During the clone wars, observe Anakin Skywalker, Obi-wan Kenobi, and Yoda’s movements.

Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Release date: May 19, 2005

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 20m

Hayden Christensen, Natalie Portman, Ewan McGregor, Ian McDiarmid, and Samuel L. Jackson are among the cast members.

Summary: While helping Obi-Wan Kenobi save Chancellor Palpatine, Anakin Skywalker is increasingly drawn to the dark side of the force in Episode III.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Release date: December 16, 2016

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 13m

Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Riz Ahmed, and Alan Tudyk are the stars.

Summary: After learning about a terrible new weapon called the Death Star, the Rebel Alliance now holds the galaxy’s future in its hands. They must determine the Death Star’s weakness if it has one. A squad of troops from the Rebel Alliance sets out on a perilous mission to steal the Death Star’s blueprints.

Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)

Release date: May 25, 1977

Rating: PG

Runtime: 2h 5m

Featuring: Alec Guinness, Carrie Fisher, Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill

Summary: The Galactic Empire is facing a rebellion. Princess Leia is taken hostage by Imperial Forces on Darth Vader’s instructions. Luke Skywalker and Han Solo put together a team to save the princess and bring freedom back to the galaxy after receiving a frantic plea.

Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Release date: May 21, 1980

Rating: PG

Runtime: 2h 7m

Featuring Billy Dee Williams, Carrie Fisher, Harrison Ford, and Mark Hamill

Synopsis: Luke Skywalker starts his Jedi training with Master Yoda after repelling Imperial forces on the planet Hoth. His companions are being brutally hunted down by Boba Fett, a mysterious bounty hunter.

Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)

Release date: May 25, 1983

Rating: PG

Runtime: 2h 11m

Starring: Anthony Daniels, Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams

Synopsis: In an effort to protect his Rebel Alliance allies from the Galactic Empire, Luke Skywalker must battle Jabba the Hutt and Darth Vader.

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015)

Release date: December 18, 2015

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 18m

Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, and Adam Driver are the stars.

According to the synopsis, Rey, a scavenger, is the protagonist of The Force Awakens. As a result of her alliance with a stormtrooper named Finn, Rey is thrown into the ongoing conflict between the First Order and the Resistance.

Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017)

Release date: December 15, 2017

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 32m

Starring: Carrie Fisher, John Boyega, Mark Hamill, Daisy Ridley, and John Boyega

Summary: With the assistance of Jedi Master Luke Skywalker, Rey begins to test the limits of her skills. The Resistance gets ready for combat in an effort to topple the First Order as Rey seeks to master the Force.

Related: How to View the “Jurassic Park” and “Jurassic World” Movies (Chronologically or by Release Date)

Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

Release date: December 20, 2019

Rating: PG-13

Runtime: 2h 22m

Starring: Ian McDiarmid, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Daisy Ridley, and Adam Driver

Synopsis: After learning that Emperor Palpatine is still alive, the Resistance scrambles to find him and bring him to justice. The First Order is being fought against by the Resistance, which is now being commanded by Finn and Poe.

The Order of All the Star Wars Films Is as Follows

As you can see, we do include the release years only for your convenience. You shouldn’t watch the Star Wars films in the sequence of their original release. If you follow our advice, they will be simpler to implement.

Previous Article
mission impossible movies in order

How to Watch "Mission: Impossible" Films in Sequence (Chronologically and by Release Date)

Next Article
ice age movies in order

Ice Age Movies in Order: All Movies Chronologically with Released Year

Related Posts