Chronological Order for Watching the Underworld Films!

underworld movies in order

The elite vampire assassin Selene relates the tale of the ongoing conflict between vampires and Lycans in the Underworld film series, which stars Kate Beckinsale. Despite not receiving great reviews, these movies have gained quite a cult following since 2003.

If you’ve ever been interested in viewing the Underworld films, we’ve put up this (largely) spoiler-free guide to help you choose whether to follow the plot chronologically or in order of release. Both approaches are fantastic choices! For more like this, you can also check out our ranking of the top vampire films.

The Underworld Movies in Chronological Order

  1. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)

underworld movies in order

Although it’s technically the third movie in the Underworld series, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans functions as a prequel to the first movie and takes place earlier in the timeline.

Rise of the Lycans, which stars Michael Sheen as Lucian, a Lycan raised by the vampire elder Viktor (Bill Nighy), takes place in 1402 and replaces Kate Beckinsale as its leading lady. Lucian navigates the circumstances that lead to the Vampire-Lycan war.

Related: Marvel Films in Chronological Order: How to Watch 7 MCU Dr Strange Movies?

  1. Underworld: Endless War – Part I (2011)

underworld movies in order

A series of brief animated films with the working title “Underworld: Endless War” recounts Selene’s early adventures as a Death Dealer, an elite vampire assassin who is the primary character of the Underworld series.

Selene is voiced by Laura Harris in these animated shorts, which were made available before Underworld: Awakening. Kate Beckinsale created the part. Selene is pursuing three Lycan brothers who are ravaging the city in Part I, which takes place around 1890.

  1. Underworld: Endless War – Part II (2011)

underworld movies in order

Part II of Endless Wars takes place in Paris once more in 1967, over 80 years later. Selene has returned to the city in this new tale to look into rumors of the two remaining Lycan brothers.

  1. Underworld (2003)

underworld movies in order

Underworld, the first movie in the series to be released, is set in London in or around the year 2003. The movie exposes viewers to the Underworld realm as well as the hidden origins of vampires and Lycans. Selene (Beckinsale) has dedicated her life to eradicating lycans, but when Michael (Scott Speedman), the human she starts falling for, is bitten by one, her plans are upended.

  1. Underworld: Evolution (2006)

underworld movies in order

Selene and Michael are in conflict with their respective clans as a result of the first sequel’s extensive exploration of the history of vampires and Lycans. The vampire elder Markus interferes with their efforts to mend the divide between their two species (Tony Curran).

  1. Underworld: Endless War – Part III (2011)

underworld movies in order

Where to Watch: The Underworld Trilogy: The Essential Collection Blu-Ray or on YouTube

In the third and final Underworld: Endless War short, which is set in 2012, Selene returns to Paris one last time to finally kill Krandrill, the only lycan brother still alive. She has Michael Corvin on her side to assist her this time.

Related: Chronological Order of The Perry Mason Films 2022!

  1. Underworld: Awakening (2012)

underworld movies in order

It takes place not too long after Underworld: Evolution and picks up after the public and government have learned about the presence of vampires and Lycans. Many people around the world start chasing these vampires because they want to study them in order to use their power.

For 12 years, Selene is caught and held in cryogenic suspension, which places the story roughly in 2015. When she awakens, vampires and Lycans are all but extinct, and she sets out on a quest to find Michael and flee.

  1. Underworld: Blood Wars (2017)

underworld movies in order

The most recent game in the series, Underworld: Blood Wars, is set a few years after Awakening, though the precise year isn’t exactly specified. Selene is pursued in this tale by both the Lycan clan and the vampire faction that betrayed her, and she sets out on a quest to put an end to the ongoing conflict between the two species.

  • Underworld Movies in Release Order
  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld: Endless War (Parts I-III) (2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)
Previous Article
best software solutions to fix blurry images

Best Image Sharpening Software: How To Restore Blurry Photos?

Next Article
tinker bell movies in order

What Is the Best Order to Watch the Tinker Bell Films?

Related Posts